The desk
Die Brief

DIE.BRIEF

Hardware desk
Apple CONFIRMED

Redesigned Health app ships in iOS 27.3 beta with Health Age and movement evaluations

The Die Brief Desk, after apple.com

Apple's redesigned Health app enters the iOS 27.3 developer beta with eleven language options, a Longevity tab, and on-device movement evaluations that require an Apple Watch.

Computer screen showing a web browser on AppleInsider, featuring an article about Apple — Picture from appleinsider.com
Computer screen showing a web browser on AppleInsider, featuring an article about Apple — Picture from appleinsider.com
Redesigned Health app (iOS 27.3 beta)
VersioniOS 27.3 developer beta
Health app languages11
Apple Intelligence languages16
Health Age inputsVO2 max, resting HR, sleep, HRV
Movement eval hardwareiPhone camera + Apple Watch
On-device processingYes (vision-based AI)
Free updateLater 2026
Age gate (select features)18

The Apple Newsroom post dated November 3, 2026, places the redesigned Health app in the iOS 27.3 developer beta, with a free software update promised for later in the year. The page names eleven languages for the Health app itself — global English, Chinese Simplified and Traditional, French, Japanese, Korean, Norwegian, Portuguese, Spanish, Turkish, Vietnamese — and sixteen for Apple Intelligence availability. The table below carries those figures and the hardware gates. What the page does not do is enumerate which iPhone or iPad models qualify beyond the phrase "Apple Intelligence-enabled."

The grid lists the inputs Health Age consumes — VO2 max, resting heart rate, sleep, heart rate variability — but the page gives no formula, no threshold, no calibration curve. A user who sees a Health Age of 34 when they are 40 does not know whether that number is a percentile, a z-score, or a proprietary index. The movement evaluations run on-device with vision-based AI models, and the page states no video is recorded, stored, or shared. The page is silent on what those models are, how large they are, or whether they update independently of the OS. The Longevity tab also accepts clinical laboratory data such as A1c and LDL cholesterol, but the page does not specify which lab formats it parses or whether a user uploads a PDF or a structured file.

Adaptive Dark Mode options within Safari in macOS 27.3 — Picture from appleinsider.com
Adaptive Dark Mode options within Safari in macOS 27.3 — Picture from appleinsider.com

The constraint here is hardware, not software. Health Age requires an Apple Watch. The VO2 max test requires an Apple Watch plus AirPods Pro 3 or a third-party heart-rate sensor. A user who owns an iPhone 16 Pro but no Watch gets the Insights tab and the For You section but not the Longevity tab's central metric. The server-side Apple Intelligence features carry daily usage limits, and the page says expanded access "will be available for a fee in the future" without naming a price or a tier. That sentence is the one a buyer should read twice: the free tier is rate-limited, and the paid tier is a promise, not a product. The 18-and-older gate on select features and the 13-and-older gate on Siri AI further narrow the addressable user base, but those are policy choices, not architectural ones.

Picture from appleinsider.com
Picture from appleinsider.com

The page does not name the specific iPhone or iPad models that qualify. It does not give a rollout date beyond "later this year." It does not identify which features are iPhone-only versus iPad-available. The clinical experts who developed the movement evaluations are unnamed. The scoring methodology behind Health Age is absent. None of those gaps are unusual for a beta announcement, but they mean the table above is a floor, not a ceiling, and the buyer's decision tree has at least four branches that remain open. The fab question — whether the on-device vision models push Apple's NPU utilization past what the current-generation chip handles comfortably — is not answered here and will not be until the models ship in the free update.

Picture from appleinsider.com
Picture from appleinsider.com

The constraint is hardware, not software: Health Age and the VO2 max test both require an Apple Watch, and the VO2 max test additionally requires AirPods Pro 3 or a third-party sensor. The server-side Apple Intelligence tier is rate-limited with a paid expansion promised but unpriced, making the free tier the only measurable offering today.

The page does not state the Health Age scoring formula, the specific qualifying device models, the rollout date, or the size and update cadence of the on-device vision models.

The on-device vision models for movement evaluations have no stated size, update cadence, or NPU utilization figure. The Health Age scoring formula is absent, so the metric cannot be independently validated. The hardware gate (Watch + AirPods Pro 3) means the feature set is not uniform across the iPhone install base.

After apple.com. We did not report this. The pictures, if any, are theirs. Also filed by MacRumors, The Verge AI, AppleInsider, apple.com.

November 04, 2026 · 4 min
Copy link Share to X