Canva Craft separates planning from rendering
Canva Craft is a two-stage image model that plans composition before rendering at up to 2K resolution across more than 30 aspect ratios.

| Craft | |
|---|---|
| resolution | 2K |
| aspect ratios | more than 30 |
| DesignArena overall rank | fourth |
| People & Portraits rank | #1 out of 87 |
| Landscapes & Nature rank | #1 out of 85 |
| upcoming variants | Craft-fast and Craft-ultrafast |
That resolution does not prove that Craft is cheaper, faster, or better than the frontier models it is ranked against. Canva's newsroom page says Craft plans composition before rendering, and it lists DesignArena ranks: fourth overall, first in People & Portraits out of 87, first in Landscapes & Nature out of 85.
The desk reads the two-stage design as a cost and control problem. Canva needs to serve a large design audience, so the planning stage and distillation matter more than a single benchmark rank. That makes Craft a product for editable layouts, not a general-purpose image model. Upcoming variants are the real test.
Unmeasured are parameter count, training data, price, latency, and whether Craft-fast or Craft-ultrafast reach the claimed fraction of cost. It also does not state how the planning stage changes failure modes for text, objects, or layout.
Canva is constrained by inference cost, not by model quality, because it must serve a large design audience at scale. The buyer gets editable structure, but the document does not prove lower price or faster latency for the upcoming variants.
The page does not state parameter count, training data size, price, latency, or the measured cost of Craft-fast and Craft-ultrafast.
The two-stage planner/renderer split trades raw generation for layout control and distillation. It supports editable design workflows, but the missing cost and latency figures keep the efficiency claim unverified.
After canva.com. We did not report this. The pictures, if any, are theirs.


