The desk
Die Brief

DIE.BRIEF

Hardware desk
Systems SINGLE-SOURCE

Philips 36M4C5500P: a 36-inch fast VA curved at 260 hz overclocked

The Die Brief Desk, after philips.com.au

The 36M4C5500P/75 is a 36-inch Fast VA curved monitor with a 260 Hz overclockable refresh rate, 3440 by 1440 resolution, and no listed price on the Philips Australia page.

Diamond clean — Picture from philips.no
Diamond clean — Picture from philips.no
36M4C5500P/75
panelFast VA
size36" / 91.46cm
resolution3440 x 1440 (WQHD)
refresh rate260 Hz (overclockable)
response time0.3 ms Smart MBR
HDRDisplayHDR 400

The 36M4C5500P/75 is the vendor number on the Philips Australia product page, and the page lists no price. The Wccftech article from October 22, 2026 confirms that Philips had not announced pricing at the time of publication. The monitor is the first 36-inch gaming display in the Evnia 5000 series, a line Philips positions as its affordable tier.

The panel is a Fast VA with a 1500R curvature. The resolution is 3440 by 1440, which is the same WQHD resolution that most 34-inch ultrawide monitors carry. Philips has stretched that resolution across a 36-inch panel, which means the pixel density drops compared to a 34-inch panel at the same resolution. A 34-inch panel at 3440 by 1440 gives roughly 109 pixels per inch. A 36-inch panel at the same resolution gives roughly 103 pixels per inch. The difference is small but visible at close range, and it is the trade Philips made to gain two inches of horizontal field of view. The 1500R curvature is the same radius Philips has used across its Evnia curved lineup, and it is the standard for ultrawide gaming displays in this size class.

The headline refresh rate is 260 Hz, but the vendor page describes it as overclockable. That single word does the work of a footnote the page never writes. The native refresh rate is not stated anywhere on the product page. A buyer who sees 260 Hz in the title and assumes it is the out-of-box rate will be wrong if the native rate is lower. The page does not say what the native rate is, and the Wccftech article does not clarify it either. The stretch between the headline number and the configuration the starting price buys is the gap between an overclocked ceiling and an unstated floor.

The response time figure on the vendor page is 0.3 ms Smart MBR. The Wccftech article reports 1 ms GtG. These are not the same measurement. Smart MBR is Philips' proprietary metric, and GtG is the grey-to-grey transition time measured under a specific pattern. The wire collapsed the vendor's proprietary figure into a GtG number without stating which one it was using. The 0.3 ms figure is the one on the product page, and it is the figure a buyer should hold to. The 1 ms GtG figure from the wire is a different measurement method applied to the same panel, and it is the more conservative number.

Brightness is 350 nits in SDR mode. The vendor page states DisplayHDR 400 certification. The Wccftech article adds 450 nits in HDR mode and 500 nits peak. The 500 nits peak is the figure that matters for HDR highlights, and it sits at the lower end of what a well-tuned DisplayHDR 400 panel should deliver. The certification threshold is 400 nits sustained, and the 500 nits peak is the number that separates a panel that merely passes certification from one that renders highlights with some headroom. The 350 nits SDR figure is adequate for a gaming monitor but does not compete with the 400 nits SDR that some IPS panels in the same class deliver.

Color coverage is 126 percent sRGB, 105 percent NTSC, 91 percent Adobe RGB, and 95 percent DCI-P3. Delta E is below 2. For a monitor in the Evnia 5000 series, which Philips positions as affordable, a Delta E under 2 is a specification that usually appears on panels a tier higher. The 91 percent Adobe RGB is the weakest of the four color spaces, which is typical for VA panels and limits the monitor's usefulness for print work. The 126 percent sRGB coverage means the panel can render colors outside the sRGB gamut, which is useful for HDR content but irrelevant for standard sRGB workflows.

Connectivity is two HDMI 2.1 ports and one DisplayPort 1.4. There is no USB hub. There is a 3.5 mm audio jack. For a 36-inch display that is meant to sit at the center of a desk, the absence of a USB hub means the monitor cannot pass through peripherals to the PC, which is a feature that most 34-inch ultrawides in the same price bracket include. The HDMI 2.1 ports are sufficient for the stated resolution and refresh rate, and the DP 1.4 port is the one that will carry the 260 Hz signal if the GPU supports it.

The Evnia 32M2N6901A, Philips' 4K QD-OLED monitor, is the other machine in the Evnia lineup that matters here, and it is a different product entirely.

The buyer who is constrained by this monitor is the one who needs a USB hub or who needs a stated native refresh rate. The document does not prove that the 260 Hz is the native rate. It proves that the monitor can be overclocked to 260 Hz. The buyer still cannot know what the native rate is, what the price will be in any market outside APAC, or whether the 0.3 ms Smart MBR figure holds under sustained load. The APAC-only availability at launch means that the monitor's performance in other regions is unmeasured. The Evnia 5000 series is Philips' affordable line, and the absence of a price on the vendor page means that the buyer cannot determine whether the 36-inch panel is priced as a premium over the 34-inch models or as a value play.

What is still unmeasured is the native refresh rate, the price, and the sustained brightness under HDR content. The vendor page gives a peak figure and a certification, but no sustained HDR brightness measurement. The overclockable 260 Hz is a ceiling, not a guarantee. The 0.3 ms Smart MBR is a single-pattern measurement, and its behavior under mixed content is not stated.

The 260 Hz figure is an overclocked ceiling, not a native rate, and the vendor page never states what the monitor ships at. The buyer in APAC is the only one who can buy it, and the buyer everywhere else is waiting for a price that does not exist yet.

The native refresh rate, the price, and the sustained HDR brightness are not stated on the vendor page.

The overclockable 260 Hz label means the native refresh rate is below 260 Hz, but the page does not state the native value. The 0.3 ms Smart MBR is a proprietary single-pattern metric; the 1 ms GtG from the wire is a different measurement. The absence of a USB hub and the APAC-only launch constrain the buyer's options.

After philips.com.au. We did not report this. The pictures, if any, are theirs.

October 22, 2026 · 7 min
Copy link Share to X