The desk
Die Brief

DIE.BRIEF

Hardware desk
Apple CONFIRMED

South Korea fines Apple 20.8 billion won over App Store payments

The Die Brief Desk, after @johnternus

South Korea's KMCC approved a 20.8 billion won fine for Apple and ordered external payment links, but the filing leaves the required fee level unmeasured.

General App Store South Korea Feature Feature — Picture from macrumors.com
General App Store South Korea Feature Feature — Picture from macrumors.com
AppleGoogle
fine20.8 billion won42.9 billion won
US fine$15.5 million$32 million
combined fine63.7 billion won63.7 billion won
third-party commission26%26%
compliance plan deadlineone monthone month
implementation deadlinethree monthsthree months
corrective orderscrap separate appsrevise UX guidelines
higher commission period2015 to January 2023

20.8 billion won is the fine the Korea Media and Communications Commission approved for Apple over App Store payment policies. That number does not prove the App Store now lets developers ship external payment links, because the order still has to be implemented and Apple says it is considering legal options.

The desk reads the ruling as a constraint on Apple's payment funnel, not a change in silicon or app architecture. Apple must scrap the separate-app requirement for alternative payments and submit a compliance plan within one month, with changes inside three months. Google's 42.9 billion won fine and the combined 63.7 billion won total show the regulator is treating both stores as gatekeepers, but the document does not state the exact fee level it calls reasonable.

The unmeasured part is the price of compliance: no calendar deadline, no required third-party commission, and no quantified penalty if Apple appeals.

The fine constrains Apple's payment funnel, not its hardware or app architecture. It does not prove external payment links are live, because implementation and appeal remain open.

The document does not state the exact third-party commission level the KMCC requires.

The ruling changes the App Store's payment path by requiring external links and removing the separate-app workaround. It does not change silicon, and the required fee level is still unspecified.

After @johnternus. We did not report this. The pictures, if any, are theirs.

October 29, 2026 · 3 min
Copy link Share to X