The desk
Die Brief

DIE.BRIEF

Hardware desk
Systems CONFIRMED

IPhone duo opens Pre-Order window with get ready service

The Die Brief Desk, after @itspdfu

Apple's Get Ready service is now open for iPhone Duo, letting buyers pre-select color, capacity, and accessories before pre-orders open October 16.

Four iPhone Duo devices are shown, facing frontward and backward in star white and night sky. — Picture from apple.com
Four iPhone Duo devices are shown, facing frontward and backward in star white and night sky. — Picture from apple.com
iPhone Duo
Inner display7.6-inch Super Retina XDR
Outer display5.4-inch Super Retina XDR
ChipA20 Pro
MaterialGrade 5 titanium
RatingIP68
Peak brightness3000 nits
Pre-order dateOctober 16
AvailabilityOctober 23

Apple's press release of September 9, 2026 names the machine: iPhone Duo, the first foldable iPhone, with pre-orders opening October 16 and retail availability on October 23. The document does not state a price for any configuration. The MacRumors filing of October 12 adds that Apple's Get Ready service is now accepting pre-selections in the online store and the Apple Store app, a step Apple positions as a way to streamline the order on launch day.

The build is a single configuration in two colors, star white and night sky, both in grade 5 titanium with a mirror-polished finish. A 3D-printed hinge cover carries a contrasting micro-blasted finish. The enclosure is IP68 rated for splash, water, and dust resistance, and the document does not describe a third color, a material variant, or a special edition.

The inner display is 7.6 inches, the outer 5.4 inches, both Super Retina XDR with ProMotion, Always On, and 3000 nits of peak outdoor brightness. The outer covers 90 percent of the screen area of iPhone 18 Pro; the inner is 50 percent larger than iPhone 18 Pro Max. Both share the same aspect ratio so content scales proportionally across the fold, and a nano-texture finish on the inner display minimizes glare and reduces the visibility of the crease. The Dynamic Island is redesigned to fit vertically on the side of both displays and expands to show Live Activities and alerts.

The chip is the A20 Pro, paired with a custom-designed vapor chamber and a dual-battery architecture. The press release calls this "pro performance and impressive all-day battery life" without a wattage figure, a milliwatt-hour count, or a benchmark number. The 3000-nit peak is a specification printed on the page, not a reading from a photometer in a lab, and the document does not state whether that figure applies to both displays or only the inner. Touch ID is integrated into the side button, and the document notes that users can also unlock the device using an Apple Watch.

Two hands hold up iPhone Duo devices — one folded, and one unfolded. — Picture from apple.com
Two hands hold up iPhone Duo devices — one folded, and one unfolded. — Picture from apple.com

The camera system carries two 48MP Fusion sensors: a Main with an integrated optical-quality 2x Telephoto and sensor-shift OIS, and an Ultra Wide that the document says is the same as on iPhone 18 Pro models. Video tops out at 4K 120 fps in Dolby Vision on the Main, and the 24MP default on the rear cameras is the file-size tier for sharing while the 48MP tier is for stills. A Center Stage front camera and a FaceTime camera beneath the inner display round out the array. The document describes a Smart Take feature that uses on-device AI models on the A20 Pro to capture photos automatically when subjects are posing, and a Duo Preview mode that shows a live preview on the outer display.

The hinge is engineered from more than 100 components to control opening and closing and support the center of the display. Ceramic Shield protects the back; Ceramic Shield 2 on the front provides 3x better scratch resistance than the previous generation. A nano-textured cover layer made from a custom polymer with up to 40 percent higher stiffness than other materials used in the industry sits above the inner display, and high-strength glass above and below the folding panel allows the layers to glide past one another like the pages of a book. A titanium plate at the bottom further enhances durability.

IOS 27 is tailored for the foldable form, with Lock Screen controls, the Dock, and app navigation moved to the side to maximize vertical space. The document names Apple Intelligence 2 and Siri AI as the AI layer, and notes that the Camera Control button launches a new Siri Camera mode that lets Siri see what the user sees. Later this year, the device will support Apple Pencil with USB-C for notes, sketching, and document markup on either display.

A person lays in a field chewing on a piece of gum. — Picture from apple.com
A person lays in a field chewing on a piece of gum. — Picture from apple.com

The MacRumors filing of October 12 reports that Apple's Get Ready service is now open, letting a buyer lock in color, capacity, carrier, accessories, AppleCare+, trade-in, payment method, and shipping address before the pre-order window opens at 5 a.m. Pacific on October 16. The filing frames this as a one-tap order advantage when supplies are expected to be limited, and notes that pre-orders of the iPhone Duo "really could sell out within minutes." The primary document does not mention supply constraints, production issues, or allocation.

The document describes one configuration in two colors and does not differentiate a base tier from a higher tier. There is no starting price, no capacity ladder, and no configuration the headline number describes that differs from the one the starting price would buy. The buyer cannot know what a higher tier would add because the document does not name one, and the Get Ready service lets a buyer select a capacity without the document stating which capacities exist.

The wire cites "multiple reports of production issues leading to supply constraints" as the reason Get Ready matters. The constraint the wire describes is not in the document that defines the machine, and the buyer who reads only the press release would have no reason to rush the Get Ready process.

Outdoors, a person jumps as colorful inflated balls are tossed in the air against a blue sky and a rectangular gray backdrop. — Picture from apple.com
Outdoors, a person jumps as colorful inflated balls are tossed in the air against a blue sky and a rectangular gray backdrop. — Picture from apple.com

The buyer who completes Get Ready before Friday is constrained by a process, not by a spec. The document does not prove that the hinge survives a named cycle count, that the vapor chamber holds the A20 Pro below a named thermal ceiling, or that the dual battery delivers a named hour count under a named workload. What changes for the buyer is the order of operations: pre-select now, tap once on the 16th, and hope the allocation holds.

The document leaves out a price, a battery capacity in milliwatt-hours, a hinge cycle rating, a benchmark score for the A20 Pro, and a measured peak brightness under a named standard. The buyer who walks into a store on October 23 will know the color and the titanium finish before they know the price.

The buyer is constrained by a process, not a spec. The document does not prove hinge durability, thermal headroom, or battery endurance under any named workload.

The document does not state a price, a battery capacity, a hinge cycle rating, or a benchmark score for the A20 Pro.

The A20 Pro with vapor chamber and dual battery is specified but not measured. The 3000-nit figure is a spec, not a measurement. The hinge cycle count, battery capacity, and thermal ceiling are absent from the document.

After @itspdfu. We did not report this. The pictures, if any, are theirs. Also filed by MacRumors, 9to5Mac, TechCrunch AI.

October 14, 2026 · 8 min
Copy link Share to X